Back Youth Realistic Fiction | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Youth Realistic Fiction  
Anna Was Here

Jane Kurtz · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 279
Format: Print book

Ten-year-old Anna Nickel is moving from Colorado to Kansas, and she is not happy about leaving her friends behind! This is a moving, often humorous coming-of-age story about family, faith, God's love, and the meaning of home, perfect for fans of Katherine Paterson and The Penderwicks.Ten-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The year of Billy Miller

Kevin Henkes · HarperCollins Children's Books
Format:  eBook : Document : Fiction : Primary school : English : First editionView all editions and formats

A 2014 Newbery Honor BookA New York Times BestsellerAward-winning, nationally bestselling author Kevin Henkes introduces second-grader Billy Miller in this fast-paced and funny story about friendship, sibling rivalry, and elementary school. The Year of Billy Miller includes black-and-white...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fancy Nancy: Nancy Clancy, Star of Stage and Screen

Jane O'Connor · HarperCollins
Format: Hardcover

Nancy Clancy is ready for her close-up in the fifth chapter book in the Nancy Clancy chapter book series by the New York Times bestselling team of Jane O'Connor and Robin Preiss Glasser.It's Nancy's time to shine as she takes center stage in the school play! There's no way Nancy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beezus and Ramona

Beverly Cleary

This is the first title in the hugely popular series about Ramona Quimby. Ramona's sister, Beezus, tries very hard to be patient, but how many nine-year-old girls have to put up with their embarrassing, annoying little four-year-old sisters? Sisters are supposed to love each other
Read More check catalog
 
 
Clementine

Sara Pennypacker · Hyperion Book CH; First Edition edition
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Clementine is having not so good of a week.On Monday she's sent to the principal's office for cutting off Margaret's hair. Tuesday, Margaret's mother is mad at her. Wednesday, she's sent to the principal again. Thursday, Margaret stops speaking to her. Friday starts...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sleepover Sleuths (Nancy Drew and the Clue Crew #1)

Carolyn Keene · Aladdin; Original edition
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback

Eight-year-old Nancy Drew has her first case to crack! Can you help? Nancy and her two best friends, George and Bess, are so excited! They have been invited to Deirdre's sleepover party! There will be pizza, cake, and even a pajama fashion show. But the most exciting thing is that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little House on the Prairie

Laura Ingalls Wilder · HarperTrophy
Pages: 335
Format: Paperback

The adventures continue for Laura Ingalls and her family as they leave their little house in the Big Woods of Wisconsin and set out for Kansas. They travel for many days in their covered wagon until they find the best spot to build their little house on the prairie. Soon they are planting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1

Jeff Kinney · Amulet Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Boys don't keep diaries -- or do they?The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate toIt's a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Smile

Raina Telgemeier · GRAPHIX
Format: Hardcover

Raina Telgemeiers 1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood! Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Judy Moody was in a mood. Not a good mood. A bad mood.

Megan McDonald · Candlewick Press; 1st edition
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

The mercurial Judy Moody will delight any kid whos known a bad mood or a bad day—and managed to laugh anyway.And, the winners of the Judy Moody All-About-Me Contest are announced! See the amazing winning and runner-up entries at httpwww.fablevision.comjudymoodywinnerstest.html — and find...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Braced

Alyson Gerber · Arthur A. Levine Books
Pages: 287
Format: Hardcover

Rachel Brooks is excited for the new school year. She's finally earned a place as a forward on her soccer team. Her best friends make everything fun. And she really likes Tate, and she's pretty sure he likes her back. After one last appointment with her scoliosis doctor, this will be her best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Confessions of a So-called Middle Child

Maria T. Lennon · HarperCollins
Pages: 278
Format: Hardcover

Fans of Harriet the Spy and Mean Girls will cheer when they meet Charlie C. Cooper, reformed bully, gifted hacker, slightly misguided fashionista, and so-called middle child!This debut tween novel stars the hilariously fresh Charlie Cooper as she tries to ditch her middle-child reputation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ten Rules for Living with My Sister

Ann M. Martin · Feiwel & Friends
Format: Hardcover

Pearl's older sister Lexie is in eighth grade and has a boyfriend. Pearl's only boyfriend is the family's crabby cat, Bitey. Lexie is popular. Pearl is not, mostly because of the embarrassing Three Bad Things that happened in school and which no one has forgotten. Everything...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nerd Camp

Elissa Brent Weissman · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Ten-year-old Gabe has just been accepted to the Summer Center for Gifted Enrichment. That means hell be spending six weeks at sleep-away camp writing poetry and perfecting logic proofs. S.C.G.E. has been a summer home to some legendary middle-school smarty-pants and future Jeopardy! contestants,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nothing but Trouble

Jacqueline Davies · Blackstone
Pages: 1
Format: Audiobook

[Children's Fiction (Ages 8-12) ][Read by Brittany Pressley] From the acclaimed author of The Lemonade War comes a new series starring two smart girls determined to liven up their town -- one epic prank at a time. Odawahaka has always been too small for Maggie's big scientific ideas....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Liar, Liar: The Theory, Practice and Destructive Properties of Deception

Gary Paulsen · Wendy Lamb Books
Pages: 120
Format: Book

Kevin doesn't mean to make trouble when he lies. He's just really good at it, and it makes life so much easier. But as his lies pile up, he finds himself in big - and funny - trouble with his friends, family, and teachers. He's got to find a way to end his lying streak - forever.From the Hardcover...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Adventures of Tom Sawyer

Mark Twain · Penguin Classics
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer is the first of Mark Twain's novels to feature one of the best-loved characters in American fiction, with a critical introduction by John Seelye in Penguin Classics. From the famous episodes of the whitewashed fence and the ordeal in the cave to the trial of Injun...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Melonhead

Katy Kelly · Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Format: Book

Melonhead is my preferred name. Preferred by me, not my mom. She likes people to call me by my real name, Adam Melon. Luckily, it’s too late for that because when my friend, Lucy Rose, invented Melonhead, it caughton fast.Usually I am the one doing the inventing. All my life, which...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wonder

R J Palacio · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 315
Format: Hardcover

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING JULIA ROBERTS, OWEN WILSON, AND JACOB TREMBLAY!Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face. The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.I...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Out of My Mind

Sharon M Draper · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 295
Format: Hardcover

"If there is one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind" should be it" (Denver Post") .Melody is not like most people. She cannot walk or talk, but she has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Because of Winn-Dixie

Kate DiCamillo · Candlewick
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

Recalling the fiction of Harper Lee and Carson McCullers, here is a funny, poignant, and utterly genuine first novel from a major new talent.The summer Opal and her father, the preacher, move to Naomi, Florida, Opal goes into the Winn-Dixie supermarket--and comes out with a dog. A big,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Holes

Louis Sachar · Scholastic
Pages: 233
Format: Paperback

Stanley Yelnats is unjustly sent to Camp Green Lake where he and other boys are sentenced to dig holes to build character. Stanley learns the warden has them digging holes for something else- but what?
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Jeanne Birdsall
Format: Paperback

This series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Over one million copies sold, now with a bright new look! This summer the Penderwick...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ungifted

Gordon Korman · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 280
Format: Print book

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel in which one middle-school troublemaker accidentally moves into the gifted and talented program - and changes everything. For fans of Louis Sachar and Jack Gantos, this funny and touching underdog...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ghost

Jason Reynolds · Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

A National Book Award Finalist for Young People's Literature. Nominated as one of America's best-loved novels by PBS's The Great American Read. Ghost wants to be the fastest sprinter on his elite middle school track team, but his past is slowing him down in this first electrifying novel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Roller Girl

Victoria Jamieson · Dial Books
Pages: 239
Format: Paperback

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby - perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile! For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bink and Gollie

Kate DiCamillo · Candlewick Press; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Winner of the 2011 Theodor Seuss Geisel Award!In a brilliant collaboration, best-selling authors Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee, along with acclaimed illustrator Tony Fucile, introduce an outrageously funny pair of friends.Meet Bink and Gollie, two precocious little girls - one tiny,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chomp

Carl Hiaasen · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

Wahoo Cray lives in a zoo. His father is an animal wrangler, so he's grown up with all manner of gators, snakes, parrots, rats, monkeys, snappers, and more in his backyard. The critters he can handle. His father is the unpredictable one. When his dad takes a job with a reality TV show...
Read More check catalog