Back A Book with Food | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  A Book with Food  
The Botany of Desire: A Plant's-Eye View of the World

Michael Pollan · Random House Trade Paperbacks
Format: Paperback

The book that helped make Michael Pollan, the New York Times bestselling author of Cooked and The Omnivore’s Dilemma, one of the most trusted food experts in AmericaEvery schoolchild learns about the mutually beneficial dance of honeybees and flowers:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Julie and Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously

Julie Powell · Little, Brown and Company; Reprint edition
Pages: 400
Format: Mass Market Paperback

Julie & Julia, the bestselling memoir that's "irresistible....A kind of Bridget Jones meets The French Chef" (Philadelphia Inquirer), is now a major motion picture. Julie Powell, nearing thirty and trapped in a dead-end secretarial job, resolves to reclaim her life by cooking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kitchens of the Great Midwest: A Novel

J. Ryan Stradal · Pamela Dorman Books/Viking
Pages: 312
Format: Print book

Who is Eva Thorvald? To her single father, a chef, she's a pint-sized recipe tester and the love of his life. To the chilli chowdown contestants of Cook County, Illinois, she's a fire-eating demon. To the fashionable foodie goddess of supper clubs, she's a wanton threat. She's an enigma,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Berlin Kitchen: A Love Story

Luisa Weiss · Viking Adult; 1 edition
Format: Book

The Wednesday Chef cooks her heart out finds her way home and shares her recipes with usIt takes courage to turn your life upside down especially when everyone is telling you how lucky you are But sometimes what seems right can feel deeply wrong My Berlin Kitchen tells the story of how one thoroughly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Like Water for Chocolate: A Novel in Monthly Installments with Recipes, Romances, and Home Remedies

Laura Esquivel · Anchor
Pages: 245
Format: Paperback

Earthy, magical, and utterly charming, this tale of family life in tum-of-the-century Mexico became a best-selling phenomenon with its winning blend of poignant romance and bittersweet wit.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tender at the Bone: Growing Up at the Table

Ruth Reichl · Random House Trade Paperbacks
Pages: 289
Format: Paperback

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERAt an early age, Ruth Reichl discovered that "food could be a way of making sense of the world. . . . If you watched people as they ate, you could find out who they were." Her deliciously crafted memoir, Tender at the Bone, is the story of a life determined,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kitchen Confidential Updated Edition: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly

Anthony Bourdain · Ecco
Pages: 312
Format: Paperback

A deliciously funny, delectably shocking banquet of wild-but-true tales of life in the culinary trade from Chef Anthony Bourdain, laying out his more than a quarter-century of drugs, sex, and haute cuisine - now with all-new, never-before-published material.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake: A Novel

Aimee Bender · Doubleday
Pages: 292
Format: Hardcover

The wondrous Aimee Bender conjures the lush and moving story of a girl whose magical gift is really a devastating curse. On the eve of her ninth birthday, unassuming Rose Edelstein, a girl at the periphery of schoolyard games and her distracted parents' attention, bites into her mother's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stir: My Broken Brain and the Meals That Brought Me Home

Jessica Fechtor · Plume
Pages: 274
Format: Print book

A national bestseller and winner of a 2015 Living Now Book Award, Stir is an exquisite memoir about how food connects us to ourselves, our lives, and each other. At 28, Jessica Fechtor was happily immersed in graduate school and her young marriage, and thinking about starting a family....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sweetbitter: A novel

Stephanie Danler · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 356
Format: Print book

INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan. Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential...
Read More check catalog